About Us

The Berkeley Center for Law and Business (BCLB) is Berkeley Law’s hub for rigorous, relevant, and empirically-based research, education, and programming on the interrelationships of the law, business, and the economy. Our areas of focus include venture capital and entrepreneurship, corporate social responsibility, capital markets, and mergers and acquisitions. BCLB’s marquee initiatives include Business in Society Institute, Executive Education at Berkeley Law, Startup@BerkeleyLaw, and the Women in Business Law Initiative.

Click here to see the 2020-2021 BCLB Annual Bulletin


Faculty Co-Directors:

Robert P. Bartlett III–finance and business law, venture capital, and private equity transactions

Frank Partnoy–law and finance, business associations, financial fraud, and securities litigation

Steven Davidoff Solomon–law and finance, corporate law and governance, mergers and acquisitions, and capital markets

BCLB Core Faculty:

Abhay Aneja— law and economics, law of democracy, social inequality, and criminal justice

Abbye Atkinson— consumer debt/credit law and economic inequality

Kenneth M. Ayotte— bankruptcy law, corporate finance, and law and economics

Adam Badawi— business law, shareholder litigation, and debt finance

Kenneth Bamberger— administrative law, regulation of technology, and corporate compliance

Mark Brilliant— history and American studies 

Richard Buxbaum— corporate law and international law

Robert Cooter— intellectual property law and economics

Aaron Edlin— antitrust, business law, and contract theory 

Stavros Gadinis— financial regulation, antitrust and competition policy, law and development, and distributive justice 

Jonah Gelbach— law and economics, civil procedure, evidence, securities litigation

Sonia Katyal— intellectual property, advertising, and technology

Prasad Krishnamurthy— financial regulation, antitrust and competition policy, law and development, and distributive justice

Katerina Linos— international law, comparative law, and European Union law

Amelia Miazad— corporate sustainability and corporate governance

Adair Morse— consumer finance, venture finance, impact investing, FinTech, and corruption 

Manisha Padi— law and economics and consumer financial contracts 

Panos N. Patatoukas— micro and macro interdisciplinary capital markets research

Victoria Plaut— law and psychology and inclusion and diversity in tech

Daniel Rubinfeld— antitrust, federalism, public economics, state and local finance, economics of litigation, and applied econometrics

Rachel Stern— legal profession, authoritarian legality, political science, social change and globalization, environmental regulation

Molly Van Houweling— intellectual property law and open licensing

Nancy E. Wallace— mortgage contracting, pricing, securitization, and market structures, underwriting energy efficiency in commercial mortgages, and the valuation of executive stock options.  

BCLB Executive Advisory Board:

Allison Bennington (’85), PJT Camberview Partners

Steven E. Bochner (JD ’81), Wilson Sonsini

Wei Chen, Salesforce

Paul T. Clark (JD ’80), Seward & Kissel

Darek DeFreece (’93), UC Berkeley

Alan Denenberg, Davis Polk & Wardwell

Nancy Heinen (JD ’82)

Marie Ho Huber, eBay

Michele Johnson, Latham & Watkins

Stephen L. Johnson (JD/MBA ’83), American Airlines

Karen King, Silver Lake

Kenton King (JD ’87), Skadden

Ethan Klingsberg, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Kyle Krpata, Weil Gotshal & Manges

John W. Kuo (JD ’88), Charles River Laboratories 

Scott Kupor, Andreessen Horowitz


Jamie Leigh, Cooley

Bradford Lewis (JD ‘87), Informatica 

Irene Liu, (JD ‘o6), Hopin

Susan Mac Cormac, Morrison & Foerster

Noel Nellis (JD ’66)

Stephen Oetgen, Golden Gate Capital

Brian Patterson, Gunderson Dettmer

Leo J. Pircher (JD ’57), Pircher, Nichols & Meeks

Richard K. Roeder (JD ’73), Vance Street Capital

Joel Sanders (JD ’82), Gibson Dunn & Crutcher

Kristin Sverchek (‘04), Lyft

Steven Tonsfeldt (JD ’87), Cooley

Richard Trachok, McDonald Carano

Ross Weiner, Explorer Acquisitions

Shawn Williams, Robbins Geller Rudman & Dowd 

Mitchell S. Zuklie (JD ’96), Orrick

In fond memory of:

Scott T. Carey (JD ‘61), In Memoriam

Leo Helzel (LLM ‘92), In Memoriam 

BCLB Staff:

Jack Boguszewski, Undergraduate Fellow

Matthew Cain, Senior Fellow

Alexandra Diamant, Program Coordinator

Savannah Dowling, Graduate Fellow

Jim Gilbert, Director, Executive Education

James Hicks, Academic Fellow

Elizabeth Lewis, Undergraduate Fellow 

Jessica Liu, Undergraduate Fellow


Lorena Marino-Almanza, Undergraduate Fellow

Danielle Santos, Research & Project Associate

Adam Sterling, Executive Director

Alessandra Suarez, Undergraduate Fellow

Delia Violante, Program Director 

Lily Yang, Programs, Executive Education

BCLB Scholars – Class of 2024:

Each year, BCLB works with the office of admissions to select admitted students interested in business law to be BCLB Scholars.

Adedayo Ajanaku 

Marlena Choupo

Bola Hambolu 

Chelsea Hu

Will Kasper

Tara Kay 

Edwin Ross

Zabdi Salazar