About Us

The Berkeley Center for Law, Business and the Economy (BCLBE) is Berkeley Law’s hub for rigorous, relevant, and empirically based research, education, and programming on the interrelationships of the law, business, and the economy. Our areas of focus include venture capital and entrepreneurship, corporate social responsibility, capital markets, and mergers and acquisitions. BCLBE’s marquee initiatives include Startup@BerkeleyLaw, the Corporate Responsibility Initiative, Women in Business Law, and the Berkeley Corporate Counsel Network.


BCLBE Core Faculty:

Robert P. Bartlett IIIFaculty Co-Director
Steven Davidoff SolomonFaculty Co-Director
Kenneth M. Ayotte, Professor of Law
Abbye Atkinson, Assistant Professor
Adam Badawi, Professor of Law
Richard Buxbaum, Professor of International Law
Robert Cooter, Professor of Law
Aaron Edlin, Professor of Law and Economics
Stavros Gadinis, Professor of Law
Sonia Katyal, Professor of Law 
Prasad Krishnamurthy, Professor of Law
Katerina Linos, Professor of Law 
Justin McCrary, Professor of Law
Anne Joseph O’Connell, Professor of Law
Frank Partnoy, Professor of Law
Victoria PlautProfessor of Law and Social Science
Daniel Rubinfeld, Professor of Law
Molly Van Houweling, Professor of Law
Rachel Stern, Assistant Professor




BCLBE Executive Advisory Board:

Allison Bennington, ValueAct Capital
Steven E. Bochner (’81), Wilson Sonsini
George S. Cary (’76), Cleary Gottlieb
Paul T. Clark (’80), Seward & Kissel
Nancy Heinen (’82)
Leo Helzel (’92)
Stephen L. Johnson (’83), American Airlines
Kevin Kennedy (’91), Simpson Thacher
Kenton King (’87), Skadden
Alexa E. King (’94), FireEye
John W. Kuo (’88), Varian Medical Systems
Noel Nellis (’66)
Leo J. Pircher (’57), Pircher, Nichols & Meeks
Richard K. Roeder (’73), Vance Street Capital
Joel Sanders (’82)
Steven Tonsfeldt (’87), Cooley
Mitchell S. Zuklie (’96), Orrick
In fond memory:
Scott T. Carey (’61)


BCLBE Advisors:

Matthew W. Close (’96), O’Melveny & Myers
Silvia Garrigo, Corporate Responsibility Initiative 
Doreen Lilienfeld, Shearman & Sterling
Olga V. Mack (’06), ClearSlide
Matthew W. Sonsini (’92), Wilson Sonsini


BCLBE Staff:

Alexandra Diamant, Program Coordinator

Amelia Miazad, Institute for Business in Society
Adam Sterling, Executive Director 
Delia Violante, Program Manager
Brenda Lopez and J. Conlon Meek, BCLBE Undergraduate Fellows
Ruochen Huang, Startup@BerkeleyLaw Undergraduate Fellow

BCLBE Scholars – Class of 2020:

Each year, BCLBE works with the office of admissions to select admitted students interested in business law to be BCLBE Scholars. 

Dwight Bibbs 

David Fernandez

Shunqi (Chris) Gao

Oscar Lamont

Cremeithius Riggins

Samira Seraji

Genesis Tejada

Reid Wells