Distinguished Fellows

LOSI is honored to recognize the following eminent scholars with expertise in the law of the sea. These distinguished fellows are constantly pushing forward a framework for ocean law that will meet today’s challenges and we could not be more thankful to them for this work.


John Briscoe, Esq.
Briscoe Ivester & Bazel LLP


David Caron
Dickson Poon School of Law
King’s College London, United Kingdom
Iran-United States Claims Tribunal


Carlos Espósito
Professor of Public International Law
Faculty of Law
Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain



James Kraska
Chairman and Howard S. Levie Professor
Stockton Center for the Study of International Law
US Naval War College



Nilufer Oral
Faculty of Law & Deputy Director
Marine Research Center for the Law of the Sea
Istanbul Bilgi University, Turkey

Co-chair, IUCN Specialist Group on Oceans, Coasts & Coral Reefs
Commission on Environmental Law 


Jin-Hyun Paik
International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea



Clive Schofield
Professor & Director of Research
Australian National Centre for Ocean Resources and Security (ANCORS)
University of Wollongong, Australia


Tullio Treves
Faculty of Law
University of Milan, Italy
Judge Emeritus
International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea