Advisory Boards

One of the strengths of CLEE is its expert contact network. This network gives CLEE the insight, knowledge, and support to help lead progress  on critical environmental and energy law policy issues. Informally, CLEE engages with a broad spectrum of practitioners, academics, alumni, and project partners. Formally, CLEE receives expert advice from its Research Advisory Board and Executive Advisory Board.


Research Advisory Board

The Research Advisory Board advises on CLEE’s research activities and programs, providing input and expertise on key issues and opportunities in environmental and energy law and policy. Renowned experts in their fields, Research Advisory Board members work with staff to identify major trends, explore key challenges, and scope progressive solutions. The Research Advisory Board is essential for ensuring that the Center’s research is timely, practical, and impactful.

Research Advisory Board Members

Ken Alex
Director of the Office of Planning and Research and Senior Policy Advisor to Governor Jerry Brown

Bill Chamberlain
Chief Council (former)
California Energy Commission

Honorable Greg Hobbs
Justice (former)
Colorado Supreme Court

Kristina Lawson
Hanson Bridgett LLP

Martin Mattes
Nossaman LLP

James G. Moose
Senior Partner
Remy Moose Manley, LLP

Roger Peters
Senior VP (former)
Neil Popovic
Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton LLP
Miyoko Sakashita
Staff Attorney, Oceans Program
Center for Biological Diversity

Richard Roos-Collins
Water and Power Law Group PC

Edward Strohbehn
Senior Counsel
Morgan, Lewis, & Bockius LLP


Lenard Weiss (Chair)
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips LLP
Mason Willrich
Chair (former)
California ISO Board of Governors
Mike Zischke
Cox, Castle & Nicholson LLP


Executive Advisory Board

The Executive Advisory Board advises on long-term vision and development, providing operational. strategic, and fundraising guidance to CLEE. Executive Advisory Board members are prominent figures in environmental and energy law, policy, finance, science, technology, and other fields. The Executive Advisory Board is essential to the Center’s long-term sustainability, growth, and governance.

Executive Advisory Board Members
Robert Infelise
Cox, Castle & Nicholson LLP

Megan Jennings
Coblentz Patch Duffy & Bass LLP

Jennifer R. Jeffers
Stice & Block
Deanna Ruth Rutter
Former Editor In Chief of Ecology Law Quarterly

Miyoko Sakashita
Staff Attorney, Oceans Program
Center for Biological Diversity

Lenard Weiss (Chair)
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips LLP
Scott Zimmermann
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati