About Us

Mission Statement

The Berkeley Center on Comparative Equality and Anti-Discrimination Law (hereafter, “Center”) is a group of scholars, activists, anti-discrimination/equality body legal professionals and private lawyers from six continents working together to address the problem of discrimination and inequality.

Founded in 2011 by a handful of European and Berkeley Law scholars, the group has expanded to
include nearly 600 members on every continent but Antarctica.

Our Goals

  • To facilitate the study of comparative equality between scholars, activists, and advocates around the globe;
  • To nurture the work of emerging scholars and activists, and the work of scholars and activists
    from underrepresented groups and developing countries;
  • To connect the work of global legal scholars and anti-discrimination/equality body workers in
    enforcing anti-discrimination law;
  • To serve as a multinational virtual think tank on comparative equality and anti-discrimination
    law, seeking innovative approaches to the problem of inequality;
  • To host and to mentor visiting legal scholars at Berkeley Law and other host/participant
  • To publish papers and books on comparative anti-discrimination law, sharing this information
    with other scholars, and with legislators, equality bodies, litigators, and jurists.
  • To encourage collaboration with scholars and legal practitioners working in different legal

Participating and Influencing Issues of the Day

The Center has issue-focused working groups on important current topics, including Sexual Harassment/Violence; Pay Equity/Fairness; Disability Rights; Equality Rights of Climate Refugees; and Age Discrimination. 

Where We Are

  • Anadolu University, Turkey
  • Autonomous University of Barcelona
  • Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law
  • Berkeley Law
  • Brescia University
  • Bucerius Law School, Hamburg
  • Charles University, Czech Republic
  • Colombia Law School
  • Deakin University, Australia
  • European University Institute, Florence
  • Fordham University
  • Hanyang University School of Law, Korea
  • Harvard University
  • Humboldt University, Berlin
  • Indian Institute of Public Administration, India
  • Instituto de Derecho Comparado Franco-Argentino
  • International University College of Turin, Italy
  • Istanbul Bilgi University, Turkey
  • Istanbul University, Turkey
  • Kabarak University, Kenya
  • Keio University, Japan
  • King’s College London
  • Kwangshin University, Korea
  • London School of Economics, England
  • Loyola Law School
  • Lund University, Sweden
  • Maastricht University, the Netherlands
  • Masaryk University-Brno, Czech Republic
  • Melbourne Law School, Australia
  • Monash University, Australia
  • National University of Ireland Galway
  • National University of Lviv, Ukraine
  • New York University
  • NOVA Southeastern University
  • Pace Law School
  • Paris Nanterre University, France
  • Sciences-Po Paris, France
  • Seikei University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Stanford Law School
  • Stockholm University, Sweden
  • Tel Aviv University, Israel
  • Temple University
  • The Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • The Libera Università Maria SS. Assunta (LUMSA), Rome
  • The University of Dublin, Ireland
  • The University of Hong Kong
  • The University of Newcastle, Australia
  • The University of Southern Queensland
  • Universidad Nacional de Lomas de Zamora, Argentina
  • Universidad Nebrija, Spain
  • Universidad Pablo de Olavide, Spain
  • Universite Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
  • Universite Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium
  • University College London, England
  • University of Akron
  • University of Alcala, Spain
  • University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • University of Bergamo, Italy
  • University of Bologna, Italy
  • University of Bristol, UK
  • University of Brussels (ULB), Belgium
  • University of California, Irvine
  • University of Canterbury
  • University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • University of El Salvador, Argentina
  • University of Florence, Italy
  • University of Florida
  • University of Hasselt, Belgium
  • University of Hawaii
  • University of Iceland
  • University of Illinois Springfield
  • University of Iowa
  • University of Leeds, England
  • University of Leicester, England
  • University of Lund, Sweden
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Milano, Italy
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of New South Whales, Sydney
  • University of Oslo, Norway
  • University of Oxford
  • University of Paris I (Sorbonne-Pantheon)
  • University of Southern California, Gould School of Law
  • University of Sydney
  • University of Technology Sydney
  • University of the Basque Country, Spain
  • University of Toronto, Canada
  • University of Trento, Italy
  • University of Valencia, Spain
  • University of York
  • Utrecht University, Netherlands
  • Virginia Polytech Institute and State University
  • West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, India
  • Willamette University
  • Yale Law School
  • Yeshiva University

Others of us can be found at government organizations, including the French and German anti-discrimination agencies, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, the California Fair Employment and Housing Council, the European Commission, the United Nations and NGO’s, including the Open Society Justice Initiative.

Notice – Latest updates on COVID-19 policies and resources for the UC Berkeley campus community. — View Details