Global Systemic Racism Conference

 

BCCE Banner

UC Berkeley School of Law (via zoom)

September 17 – 18, 2021

Conference Agenda

Conference Recordings

Paris Conference Essays

           

            Last summer in the midst of the pandemic, Black Lives Matter protests erupted again in the United States following the police killing of George Floyd. The protestors were seeking not only to highlight the brutality of Floyd’s killing, but also to expose the structure of America’s policing practices and the criminal justice system that too often leads to the deaths of black and brown people without the perpetrators facing any accountability. Intermingled with these concerns was the anguish communities of color were experiencing over the alarming number of disproportionate severe health outcomes and deaths related to COVID-19. Across continents, this moment has ignited and unified movements to fight against systemic racial oppression. There are ongoing protests in France, Brazil, the United States, the Congo, South Korea, and the United Kingdom.

 

            The formation of the Global Systemic Racism Working Group was inspired by the urgent need to give a global critical voice to the racial injustices that have long plagued many societies. We are convening this international and interdisciplinary conference, which will take place over two days, as the first stage to developing a book on global systemic racism. The conference aims to tap into the global nature of newly emerging movements and critiques of the structures that fueled them. The event brings together prominent scholars who are working in their fields on varied issues concerning, for example, disparities in healthcare, housing, education, employment, wealth, income, political power, mass incarceration, and policing. These scholars and activists are intervening in ways that reveal that the problems are interconnected and that the structuring of the systems relies upon and reproduces racial inequality. During the conference we will explore theories, strategies, movements, campaigns, and events as well as patterns and practices of racial oppression, similarities, and divergences. Our international critical focus on the vexing issue of systemic racism makes this project unique and timely.

 

 

For more information, please contact Kristen Barnes at Syracuse (gkbarnes@syr.edu) or David Oppenheimer at Berkeley (doppenheimer@law.berkeley.edu).

Conference Details

When & Where

Friday, September 17

14:00 – 19:00 (UTC)

Saturday, September 18, 2021

14:00 – 17:00 (UTC)

 

Who Should Attend

Conference is by invitation only.

 

Registration

Everyone will receive a zoom link before the conference begins. Berkeley requires that anyone participating in a zoom meeting in a Berkeley platform have a zoom account one can sign into. If you already don’t have one, you should create a zoom account in order to participate.

Organizers

YeJin Ahn

United States

Student Co-Director of Systemic Racism Working Group, UC Berkeley

Kristen Barnes

United States

Associate Dean for Faculty Research & Professor of Law, Syracuse University College of Law

David Oppenheimer

United States

Clinical Professor of Law, UC Berkeley School of Law; Faculty Co-Director, Pro Bono Program; Director, Berkeley Center on Comparative Equality and Anti-Discrimination Law

Participating Scholars

Profile Photo of Padideh Ala’i

Padideh Ala’i

United States

Professor of Law, American University Washington College of Law

Profile Photo of E.Tendayi Achiume

E.Tendayi Achiume

United States

Professor of Law, UCLA; Special Rapporteur on Racism, Racial Discrimination, Xenophobia & Related Intolerance, UN

Profile Photo of Silvio Luiz de Almeida

Silvio Luiz de Almeida

Brazil

Professor, FGV (Fundação Getúlio Vargas) & Mackenzie

Profile Photo of Raíla Alves

Raíla Alves

Brazil

PhD Candidate, University of Brasilia

Thiago Amparo

Brazil

Professor, FGV Direito SP and FGV International Relations School

Rafael Acosta de Arriba

Cuba

Poet & Author; Titular Professor, University of Havana

Sahar Aziz

United States

Professor of Law Chancellor’s & Social Justice Scholar, Rutgers University Law School

Mehrsa Baradaran

United States

Professor of Law, UC Irvine Law

Monica C. Bell

United States

Associate Professor of Law & Sociology, Yale University

Mary Frances Berry

United States

Geraldine R. Segal Professor, University of Pennsylvania

Cindy Blackstock

Canada

Executive Director, First Nations Child and Family Caring Society of Canada

Adams Bodomo

Austria

Professor of African Studies, University of Vienna

Papori Bora

India

Assistant Professor, Jawaharlal Nehru University

Jin Young Choi

United States-South Korea

Professor of New Testament and Christian Origins & Baptist Missionary Training School Professional Chair in Biblical Studies, Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School

Seth Davis

United States

Professor of Law, UC Berkeley School of Law

Rokhaya Diallo

United States-France

Researcher in Residence, Georgetown University; Writer, Filmmaker, Journalist & TV Host, and Public Speaker

Ndumiso Dladla

South Africa

Lecturer, University of South Africa

Ana Claudia Farranha

Brazil

Associate Professor, University of Brasília

Éric Fassin

France

Sociology Professor, École Normale Supérieure

Sheila Foster

United States

The Scott K. Ginsburg Professor of Urban Law and Policy, Professor of Public Policy & Associate Dean for Equity and Inclusion, Georgetown University

Barbara Havelkova

United Kingdom-Czechia

Associate Professor of Law, University of Oxford

Thelton Henderson

United States

Retired Judge, United States District Court for the Northern District of California; Visiting Professor of Law, University of California, Berkeley School of Law

Sean A. Hill

United States

Assistant Professor, Ohio State University

Guangzhi Huang

United States-China

Assistant Professor, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts

Puja Kapai

Hong Kong

Associate Professor, University of Hong Kong; Convenor, Women’s Studies Research Centre

David Kyuman Kim

United States

President, Horn Hospitality Group

Jinhee Kim

South Korea

Research Fellow, Korean Educational Development Institute

Angela Kocze

Hungary

Assistant Professor of Romani Studies, Chair of Romani Studies Program & Academic Director of the Roma Graduate Preparation Program, Central European University

Teresa Libesman

Australia

Associate Professor, University of Technology Sydney School of Law

Baye McNeil

Japan

Author, Columnist, and Lecturer

Frédéric Mégret

Canada

Professor of Law & William Dawson Scholar, McGill University; Co-director, Center for Human Rights and Legal Pluralism

Marie Mercat-Bruns

France

Affiliated Professor, Sciences Po Law School; tenured Associate Law Professor, Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers

Seema Mohapatra

United States

Murray Visiting Professor of Law, SMU Dedman School of Law

Adilson José Moreira

Brazil

Professor of Law, Mackenzie Presbyterian University

Jamelia N. Morgan

United States

Assistant Professor of Law, UCI Law

Mathias Moschel

Austria

Associate Professor, Central European University

Thanti Mthanti

South Africa

Senior Lecturer, University of Cape Town

Nadiyah J. Humber

United States

Associate Professor of Law, University of Connecticut School of Law

Mame-Fatou Niang

United States-France

Associate Professor, Carnegie Mellon University

Fernanda G. Nicola

United States-Italy

Professor of Law, American University; Director of the Program, International Organizations Law and Development

Priscilla Ocen

United States

Professor of Law, Loyola Law School

Amilcar Pereira

Brazil

Associate Professor of History of Education, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro; Coordinator, Study and Research Group on Anti-Racist Education & Young Scientist Scholarship from Our State

Marisol Alcocer Perulero

Mexico

Professor, Autonomous University of Guerrero

Evandro Piza

Brazil

Professor of History of Education, University of Brasília

Rohini Rai

United Kingdom

Research Associate, University of Manchester

Julie Ringelheim

Belgium

Qualified FNRS Researcher & Professor, UCLouvain

Marton Rovid

Hungary

Visiting professor at the Romani Studies Program & Managing editor of the journal Critical Romani Studies, Central European University

Valentina Montoya Robledo

Colombia

Professor of Public Administrative Law, University of the Andes; Consultant, Inter-American Development Bank

Michael Orlando Sharpe

Japan-The Netherlands

Associate Professor of Political Science, York College of the City University of New York; Adjunct research scholar, Weatherhead East Asian Institute at Columbia University

Karine de Souza Silva

Brazil

Professor, Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina

Matiangai V.S. Sirleaf

United States

Nathan Patz Professor of Law, University of Maryland School of Law

Chand Somaiah

Singapore

Research Fellow, National University of Singapore Asian Migration cluster of the Asia Research Institute

Julie Suk

United States

Professor of Law, Fordham University School of Law

Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor

United States

Assistant Professor, Princeton University

Debra Thompson

Canada

Associate Professor & Canada Research Chair in Racial Inequality in Democratic Societies, McGill University

Selvaraj Velayutham

Australia

Associate Professor, Macquarie University Macquarie School of Social Sciences

Yaqiu Wang

United States-China

China Researcher, Human Rights Watch; Columnist, MSNBC

Jamillah Bowman Williams

United States

Associate Professor, Georgetown Law

Patricia J. Williams

United States

Professor of Law, Northeastern University; Emerita, Columbia Law School

Adrien K. Wing

United States

Bessie Dutton Murray Professor & Associate Dean for International and Comparative Law Programs, University of Iowa College of Law

Ruqaiijah Yearby

United States

Professor of Law, Saint Louis University School of Law; Executive Director and Co-Founder, Institute for Healing Justice and Equity

Mapping Our Geographical Diversity

Time Conversions

Friday, September 17

North America

Europe

South America

Asia

Africa

Oceania

7:00 am –
12:00 pm (PT)

3:00 pm –8:00pm (London, UK)

11:00 am – 4:00 pm (Brazil)

 

11:00 pm – 4:00 am (next day) (Tokyo, Japan)

4:00–9:00 pm (Cape Town, South Africa)

12:00 am – 5:00 am (Sydney and Melbourne, Australia)

10:00 am – 3:00 pm (ET)

4:00 pm – 9:00pm (Paris, France)

9:00 am –
2:00 pm (Colombia)

10:00 pm – 3:00 am (next day) (Hong Kong, China)

5:00 pm –
10 pm (Dar es Salaam, Tanzania)

 

 

5:00 pm -10:00 pm (Athens, Greece)

 

7:30 pm – 12:30 am (Delhi and Mumbai, India)

5:00 pm –
10:00 pm (Nairobi, Kenya)

 

 

Saturday, September 18, 2021

North America

Europe

South America

Asia

Africa

Oceania

7:00 am – 10:00 am (PT)

3:00–6:00 pm (London, UK)

11:00am – 2:00 pm (Brazil)

 

11:00 pm – 2:00 am (next day) (Tokyo, Japan)

4:00 pm –7:00 pm (Cape Town, South Africa)

12:0 0am – 3:00 am (Sydney and Melbourne, Australia)

10:00 am – 1:00 pm (ET)

4:00 – 7:00 pm (Paris, France)

9:00 am – 12:00 pm (Colombia)

10:00 pm – 1:00 am (next day) (Hong Kong, China)

5:00 pm – 8:00 pm (Dar es Salaam, Tanzania)

 

 

5:00 -8:00 pm (Athens, Greece)

 

7:30 pm – 10:30 pm (Delhi and Mumbai, India)

5:00 pm –
8:00 pm (Nairobi, Kenya)