2017 McBaine Competition

CONGRATULATIONS to Gregory Washington ’17 for winning the 2017 McBaine Competition and to finalist Joseph Pazzano ’17

Congratulations also to Joseph Pazzano ’17 (Petitioner) and Jordan Bock ’17 (Respondent) for winning the Crowell & Moring Award for Best Brief.

2017 Competition Information

The case for the 2017 James Patterson McBaine Honors Moot Court Competition was Bell v. Itawamba County School Board, a First Amendment challenge to a school disciplinary ruling involving the right to freedom of speech. The case concerns the restriction by school officials of a student’s off-campus speech, where that speech contained threatening, intimidating, and harassing statements against two teachers.

For the final round, our distinguished panel of judges included Judge Leslie J. Abrams, United States District Court Judge for the Middle District of Georgia; Justice Leondra R. Kruger, California Supreme Court; and Judge J. Paul Oetken, United States District Court Judge for the Southern District of New York.

The McBaine Competition and Best Brief Award are made possible with generous support from Crowell & Moring LLP.

crowell & moring logo