2016 McBaine Competition

CONGRATULATIONS to H. Luke Edwards  ‘16 for winning the 2016 McBaine Competition, and to finalist Lora Krsulich ‘16! Congratulations also to Luke Edwards ‘16 (Petitioner) and Denison Goodrich-Schlenker ’16 (Respondent) for winning the Crowell & Moring Best Brief awards.

Final Round Photo

For the final round, we were proud to welcome a distinguished panel of judges: Judge Virginia A. Phillips, U.S. District Court for the Central District of California, Judge Myron H. Thompson, U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Alabama, and Justice Daniel E. Winfree, Alaska Supreme Court.  The case for the 2015-2016 competition was Frank v. Walker, a challenge under the Equal Protection Clause and Section 2 of the Voting Rights Act to the Wisconsin Voter ID Law. The 2015-2016 Competition Director was Matthew Reagan ’16.

The McBaine Competition and Best Brief Award are made possible with generous support from Crowell & Moring LLP.

Competitors are forbidden from using any outside help when writing their briefs and preparing oral arguments. However, the competition’s student director hosts office hours before the brief is due to provide participants an opportunity to discuss the case, brief-writing, and oral argument preparation. Competitors are also welcome to email the student director at any point in the process with questions or concerns. Bill Fernholz, the Director of Appellate Programs, and Diana DiGennaro, the Advocacy Competitions Associate Director, are also available for individual meetings throughout the competition.