2010 McBaine Competition

The James Patterson McBaine Honors Competition is Boalt Hall’s venerable moot court competition and is open to all Boalt second- and third-year law students. Cases chosen for the competition involve cutting-edge issues of great public importance.

This year, we are proud to welcome Judge Diane Wood of the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, Associate Justice Kathryn M. Werdegar of the California Supreme Court, and Judge Ronald M. Whyte of the Northern District of California.

This year’s case is Lee v. Louisiana. The case involves a constitutional challenge to states’ use of non-unanimous jury convictions in criminal law cases.

All pertinent information about this year’s Competition is available here. If you are participating or considering participating, you must read the Rules before you begin researching the case. For more information, please contact the 2009-10 McBaine Competition Directors Joel Wallace and Brent K. Nakamura(mailto:mcbaine.competition@gmail.com), or the Director of Appellate Programs, William Fernholz (mailto:wfernholz@law.berkeley.edu).

Rules for the 2009-2010 Competition (READ THESE FIRST!)
Schedule of Important Events and Dates
2009-10 McBaine Problem
Side Preference Sheet
Sample Scoresheets – Brief and Oral Argument
Previous Competition Winners
Forbidden Cases
Helpful Materials
For Competitors: Rule Clarifications and FAQs