Former Deans


Melissa Murray

(born 1975)

Interim Dean, March 2016-June 2017

B.A., University of Virginia (1997)
J.D., Yale Law School (2002)





Sujit Choudhry

Sujit Choudhry

(born 1970)

Dean, 2014-2016

B.Sc., McGill University, 1992
B.A., University College, Oxford, 1994
LL.B., University of Toronto, 1996
LL.M., Harvard Law School, 1998





Gillian Lester

Gillian Lester

(born 1964)

Acting Dean, December 2012-May 2013
Interim Dean, August 2013-June 2014

B.Sc., University of British Columbia, 1986
LL.B., University of Toronto, 1990
J.S.D., Stanford University, 1998





Chris Edley, Jr

Christopher Edley, Jr.

(born 1953)

Dean, 2004-2013

B.A., Swarthmore College, 1973
J.D., Harvard University, 1978
M.P.P., Harvard University, 1978






Robert C. Berring, Jr

Robert C. Berring, Jr.

(born 1949)

Interim Dean, 2003-2004

B.A., Harvard University, 1971
M.L.S., University of California, Berkeley, 1974
J.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1974




John P. Dwyer

John P. Dwyer

(born 1951)

Dean, 2000-2002

B.A., DePauw University, 1973
Ph.D., California Institute of Technology, 1978
J.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1980





Herma Hill Kay

Herma Hill Kay

(born 1934)

Dean, 1992-2000

B.A., Southern Methodist University, 1956
J.D., University of Chicago, 1959
Honorary doctorate, Southern Methodist University





Jesse H. Choper

Jesse H. Choper

(born 1935)

Dean, 1982-1992

B.S., Wilkes College, 1957
LL.B., University of Pennsylvania, 1960
Honorary doctorate, Wilkes College





Sanford H. Kadish

Sanford H. Kadish

(born 1921)

Dean, 1975-1982

B.S.S., City College of New York, 1942
LL.B., Columbia University, 1948
Honorary doctorates from Cologne University and City University of New York




Edward C. Halbach, Jr

Edward C. Halbach, Jr.

(born 1931)

Dean, 1966-1975

A.B., 1953, J.D., 1958, University of Iowa
LL.M., Harvard University, 1959
Honorary doctorate, University of Redlands




Frank C. Newman

Frank C. Newman


Dean, 1961-1966

A.B., Dartmouth College, 1938
LL.B., University of California, Berkeley, 1941
LL.M., 1947; J.S.D., 1953, Columbia University
Honorary doctorate, Santa Clara University




William Lloyd Prosser

William Lloyd Prosser


Dean, 1948-1961

A.B., Harvard University, 1918
LL.B., University of Minnesota, 1928
Honorary doctorates from Willamette University, Temple University and University of Cologne




Edwin DeWitt Dickinson

Edwin DeWitt Dickinson


Dean, 1936-1948

A.B., Carleton College, 1909
M.A., Dartmouth College, 1911
Ph.D., Harvard University, 1918
J.D., University of Michigan, 1919




Orrin Kip McMurray

Orrin Kip McMurray


Dean, 1923-1936

Ph.B., University of California, 1890
LL.B., Hastings College of the Law, 1893
Honorary doctorate, University of Southern California




William Carey Jones

William Carey Jones


Head, Department of Jurisprudence, 1894-1912
Director (later Dean), School of Jurisprudence 1912-23

A.B., 1875; M.A.; 1879; LL.D., 1923, University of California

Notice – Latest updates on COVID-19 policies and resources for the UC Berkeley campus community. — View Details