Privacy Law Forum: Silicon Valley
“The New Compliance Reality: From California to the EU to Global” 

Friday, March 22, 2019 • Four Seasons Hotel, East Palo Alto
8:30 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.

Registration & Breakfast

9:00 a.m. – 10:15 a.m.

California Privacy Law: CCPA and SB 327 (connected devices)

Lothar Determann, Baker & McKenzie
Chris Hoofnagle, Law School and School of Information, UC Berkeley
Alastair Mactaggart, Californians for Consumer Privacy
Stacey Schesser, California Department of Justice 
Tim Tobin, Hogan Lovells
Jeff Zubricki,Walmart

1.25 HR

10:15 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.



10:30 a.m. – 11:45 a.m.

“The Logic of Processing:” EU Interpretation and Corporate Implementation

Julie Brill, Microsoft
Deirdre Mulligan, Law School and School of Information, UC Berkeley
Nuala O’Connor, Center for Democracy & Technology
Alan Charles Raul, Sidley Austin
Kai WesterwelleBird & Bird

Deirdre Mulligan
Alan Charles Raul
Kai Westerwelle

1.25 HR

11:45 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

BCLT Privacy Award, presented to:

Julie Brill, Microsoft; Federal Trade Commission (2010-2016); North Carolina Department of Justice; Vermont Attorney General’s Office
Joanne McNabb, California Attorney General’s Office
Nuala O’Connor, Center for Democracy & Technology; Department of Homeland Security (2003-2005);; General Electric; DoubleClick


12:00 p.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Sponsored by:


12:30 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.

The Known Citizen: A History of Privacy in Modern America

Sarah Igo, Professor of History, Vanderbilt University


0.50 HR

1:00 p.m. – 1:15 p.m.



1:15 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.

The Global Diffusion of EU Data Protection Law

Eduardo Bertoni, Access to Public Information Agency, Argentina
Terrell McSweeny, Covington
Paul Schwartz, Law School, UC Berkeley
Indra Spiecker gen. Döhmann, Faculty of Law, Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany
Ruby Zefo, Uber

Paul Schwartz

1.25 HR

2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Practitioners’ Panel

Lindsey Finch, Salesforce
Kristin Madigan, Crowell & Moring
Heather Sussman, Orrick
Shane Witnov, Facebook

1.00 HR



Keynote – Sarah Igo

Session 1

Session 2

Session 3 – Awards

Session 4

Session 5