Symposium Agenda

Frickey symposium banner

Friday, April 24, 2009
Festschrift in honor of Philip Frickey
Alexander F. and May T. Morrison Professor of Law, Berkeley Law

Chevron Auditorium, International House
University of California, Berkeley
2299 Piedmont Avenue, Berkeley, CA


8:30 am – 9:00 am
Registration & Continental Breakfast

9:00 am – 9:35 am
Inaugural Session
Daniel Farber
, Sho Sato Professor of Law, Faculty Director, Center for Law, Energy & the Environment, Berkeley Law
9:35 am – 11:05 am
Plenary Session 1

Constitutional Law

Moderator:  Goodwin Liu, Professor of Law; Associate Dean, JD Program & Curriculum Planning; Co-Director, Chief Justice Earl Warren Institute on Race, Ethnicity & Diversity, Berkeley Law

Panelists: William Eskridge, Jr., John A. Garver Professor of Jurisprudence, Yale Law School

Robert C. Post, David Boies Professor of Law, Yale Law School

Ernest A. Young, Professor of Law, Duke University School of  Law

11:05 am – 11:20 am       

11:20 am – 12:50 pm
Plenary Session 2


Moderator:  Elizabeth Garrett,  University Vice President for Academic Planning and Budget; Sydney M. Irmas Professor of Public Interest Law, Legal Ethics, Political Science, and Policy, Planning and Development, University of Southern California Gould School of Law

Panelists:  James J. Brudney, Newton D. Baker-Baker & Hostetler Chair in Law, Ohio State University Moritz College of Law

James Emmett, Australian barrister

John F. Manning, Bruce Bromley Professor of Law, Harvard Law School

Peter L. Strauss, Betts Professor of Law, Columbia Law School

1:00 pm – 2:15 pm

Speakers:   Frank Pommersheim, Professor of Law, University of South Dakota School of Law

William Eskridge, Jr., John A. Garver Professor of Jurisprudence, Yale Law School

Richard  Duncan, Partner, Faegre & Benson LLP


2:20 pm – 3:50 pm
Plenary Session 3

Indian Law

Moderator:  Nell Jessup Newton, Chancellor and Dean, William B. Lockhart Professor of Law, University of California, Hastings College of the Law

Panelists: Robert Anderson, Director, Native American Law Center, Associate Professor of Law,  University of Washington School of Law

Bethany Berger, Associate Professor of Law, University of Connecticut School of Law

Sarah Krakoff, Associate Professor of Law, University of Colorado Law School


Tea Time:  Participants on own for late afternoon break from 3:50 to 6:15 p.m. when we reconvene at the Berkeley City Club


6:15 pm -9:00 pm Reception  & Dinner

Berkeley City Club
A Celebration of Philip Frickey Dinner


Jennifer Dukart, Associate, Faegre & Benson

E. Thomas Sullivan, Sr. Vice President and Provost; Julius E. Davis Chair in Law, University of Minnesota Law School

Dean Christopher Edley Jr., The Honorable William H. Orrick, Jr. Distinguished Chair and Dean, Berkeley Law

Daniel Olmos, Attorney, Nolan, Armstrong & Barton LLP

Berkeley Law Junior Faculty

Pamela Siege, Director of Publishing for the Academic Segment, Thomson Reuters

David Sklansky, Professor of Law, Faculty Co-Chair, Berkeley Center for Criminal Justice, Berkeley Law

Gerard Torres, Bryant Smith Chair in Law, LLM, University of Texas at Austin Law School