Advisory Board & Faculty Council

The Human Rights Center is honored to have the participation and support of a distinguished group of community volunteers and professional partners. The Faculty Council serves as an informal sounding board and network for research projects, public programs, and graduate student advising.


Richard M. Buxbaum, Professor Emeritus, Berkeley Law

Cassie Doyle, Consul General of Canada

Maryam Elahi, Community Foundation of Eastern Connecticut

Henry Erlich, Senior Scientist, Children’s Hospital Oakland Research Institute

Elizabeth Farnsworth, Journalist/Filmmaker

Deborah Goldblatt, Community Volunteer

Adam Hochschild, Journalist, Lecturer, Graduate School of Journalism, UC Berkeley

Kim Keller, Executive Director, David and Anita Keller Foundation

Bertrand Lubin, Associate Dean of Children’s Health, UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospitals

Liz Lutz

Joan Platt, Founder and President, Joan and Lewis Platt Foundation

Juan Méndez, Special Rapporteur on Torture, UN Commission on Human Rights

Art Reingold, MD, Professor and Division Head, Epidemiology, School of Public Health, UC Berkeley

Darian W. Swig, Founder and President, Article 3 Advisors

Beth Van Schaack, Leah Kaplan Visiting Professor of Human Rights, Stanford Law School

Hon. Rebecca Westerfield (ret.), Mediator

Thomas J. White (ret.), Chief Scientific Officer, Celera

Shashi Buluswar, Lecturer, Haas School of Business

Richard M. Buxbaum, Jackson H. Ralston Professor of International Law (Emeritus), School of Law

Mark Danner, Professor, Graduate School of Journalism

Chris Edley, The Honorable William H. Orrick, Jr. Distinguished Professor; Faculty Director, Chief Justice Earl Warren Institute on Law and Social Policy, School of Law

Laurel E. Fletcher, Clinical Professor of Law; Director, International Human Rights Law Clinic, School of Law

Mary Louise Frampton, Adjunct Professor of Law; Faculty Director, Henderson Center for Social Justice, School of Law

Sarah Warshauer Freedman, Professor, Graduate School of Education

Ken Goldberg, Professor, College of Engineering, with appointments in the School of Information, and Department of Art Practice

Jodi Halpern, Professor of Bioethics, School of Public Health

Gillian Hart, Professor, Department of  Geography; Development Studies Chair, International and Area Studies Academic Program

Charles P. Henry, Professor Emeritus, Department of African American Studies

Neil Henry, Professor and Dean Emeritus, Graduate School of Journalism

Marci Hoffman, Lecturer in Residence and Associate Director, Law Library, School of Law

Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann, Associate Professor, Department of History

Kate Jastram, Lecturer in Residence, School of Law

Raymond Lifchez, Professor of Architecture and City and Regional Planning, College of Environmental Design

Beatriz Manz, Professor, Department of Ethnic Studies; Department of Geography

Michael Mascuch, Associate Professor, Department of Rhetoric

Art Reingold, Professor and Head of Epidemiology, School of Public Health

Lee Riley, Professor of Epidemiology and Infectious Diseases, School of Public Health

Harley Shaiken, Professor, Graduate School of Education

Helene Silverberg, Lecturer in Residence, School of Law; Adjunct Associate Professor, Department of Political Science

Jonathan Simon, Adrian A. Kagan Professor of Law; Director, Center for the Study of Law and Society, School of Law

Bruce Smith, Associate Clinical Professor, Department of Psychology

Sarah Song, Professor, School of Law; Associate Professor, Department of Political Science

John Swartzberg, Clinical Professor Emeritus, School of Public Health

Alan Tansman, Professor of Louis B. Agassiz Chair in Japanese, Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures

Khatharya Um, Associate Professor of Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies, Department of Ethic Studies; Peace and Conflict Studies Chair, International and Area Studies Academic Program

Michael Watts, Professor, Department of Geography

Harvey M. Weinstein, Senior Research Fellow, Human Rights Center, School of Law; Clinical Professor, School of Public Health

John Wilmoth, Former Professor, Department of Demography