CSLS Speaker Series

SPRING 2020 SPEAKER SERIES TALKS

For the full calendar, click here


Monday, January 27 – DYLAN PENNINGROTH
Professor of Law and History, UC Berkeley
“Race and Contract Law” 
For the event flyer, click here

 

Monday, February 3 – GOODWIN LIU
Associate Justice, California Supreme Court
“Who’s Going to Law School? Recent Trends in Enrollment by Gender, Race, and Nationality”
For the event flyer, click here

 

Monday, February 10 – CAITLIN ROSENTHAL
Assistant Professor of History, UC Berkeley
“Capitalism Where Labor was Capital: Slavery, Power and Price in Antebellum America”
For the event flyer, click here
For the related paper, click here

 

Monday, February 24 – KHIARA BRIDGES
Professor of Law, UC Berkeley
“Imagining an Ethnography of Pregnant Class-Privileged Women of Color”

 

Monday, March 2 – TAMAR KRICHELI-KATZ
Associate Professor of Law, Tel Aviv University
“Do Languages Generate Future-Oriented Economic Behavior? Experimental Evidence for Causal Effects”

 

Monday, March 9 – KARIN MARTIN
Assistant Professor, University of Washington
“On Place, Policy, and Pain: An Analysis of Monetary Sanction Punishment Regimes in the U.S.”

 

Monday, March 16 – DAVID GREWAL
Professor of Law, UC Berkeley
“The Law and Political Economy Movement”

 

Monday, March 30 – VICTORIA WOESTE
Research Professor, American Bar Foundation
“Practicing God’s Law in a Secular World: The Civil Rights Law Practice of the Rev. Fred W. Phelps, 1964-1989”

 

Monday, April 6 – JOACHIM SAVELSBERG
Professor of Sociology; Arsham and Charlotte Ohanessian Chair, University of Minnesota
“Law and the Sociology of Genocide Knowledge”

 

Monday, April 13 – PATRICIA POSEY
Provost’s Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Chicago
“Race and Indebted Access: How the Fringe Economy Shapes Political Inclusion”

 

Monday, April 20 – EGOR LAZAREV
Assistant Professor of Political Science, University of Toronto
“Legal Pluralism After War: Why Does the Chechen Government Promote Customary Law and Sharia?””

 

Monday, April 27 – BECCA GOLDSTEIN
Assistant Professor of Law, UC Berkeley
Title forthcoming.

 


To receive email notification of talks, please send your name and email address to csls@law.berkeley.edu

Coffee will be available. Bag lunches are welcome. 

Unless otherwise noted all talks are 12:45p-2:00p in the Philip Selznick Seminar Room at 2240 Piedmont Avenue.