CSLS Speaker Series

To receive email notification of talks, please send your name and email address to csls@law.berkeley.edu

Coffee will be available.
Unless otherwise noted all talks are 12:45p-2:00p in the Philip Selznick Seminar Room at 2240 Piedmont Avenue. 

 

SPRING 2017 SPEAKER SERIES TALKS

 

Monday, January 23 – Rachel Stern
Asst. Professor of Law and Political Science, UC Berkeley
Big Data and Chinese Law
View the flyer announcement here

 

Monday, January 30 – Shauhin Talesh
Professor of Law, and of Criminology, Law and Society, and Sociology, U.C. Irvine
Data Breach, Privacy, and Cyber Liability Insurance: How Insurance Companies Act as ‘Compliance Managers’ for Businesses
View the flyer announcement here

 

Monday, February 6 – Tom Laqueur
Helen Fawcett Professor of History, UC Berkeley
The Law of Dead Bodies and the Making of a Liberal Civil Order
View the flyer announcement here

 

Monday, February 13 – Catherine Fisk
Chancellor’s Professor of Law, UC Irvine
Writing for Hire: Unions, Hollywood, and Madison Avenue (Harvard University Press, Oct. 2016)

 

Monday, February 27– Monica Hakimi
Professor of Law, University of Michigan
“The Project of International Law

 

Monday, March 6 – Arzoo Osanloo
Assoc. Professor of Law, Societies & Justice Director, Middle East Center, University of Washington
“’When Mercy Seasons Justice’: Revelation and Reform in Iranian Criminal Sanctioning”

 

Monday, March 13 – Avani Mehta Sood
Assistant Professor of Law, UC Berkeley
Constructions of Criminal Attempt

 

Monday, March 20 – Erin Kerrison
Assistant Professor, School of Social Welfare, UC Berkeley
‘Your Pants Won’t Save You’: Why Black Youth Challenge Race-Based Police Surveillance and Thoughts on How Age Conditions the Presence of Legal Cynicism”

 

Monday, April 3 – Elizabeth Hinton
Asst. Professor of History and of African and African American Studies, Harvard University
“The Making of Mass Incarceration”

 

Monday, April 10 – Angela Onwuachi-Willig
Chancellor’s Professor of Law, UC Berkeley
“Intersectional Trauma: What Donald Trump Taught Us about Cultural Trauma”

 

Monday, April 17 – Ross Matsueda
Bloomstein-Jordan Endowed Professor of Sociology
“Social Capital, Collective Efficacy, and Broken Windows”

 

Monday, April 24 – Catherine R. Albiston
Professor of Law and Sociology
“The Mark of a Termination”