CSLS Affiliates

Kathryn Abrams
Herma Hill Kay Distinguished
Professor of Law
333 Boalt North Addition
510-643-6355
krabrams@law.berkeley.edu

Catherine Albiston
Professor of Law and Professor of Sociology
2240 Piedmont
510-642-4038
fax 510-642-2951
calbiston@law.berkeley.edu

Kenneth A. Bamberger
Professor of Law
446 Boalt North Addition
510-643-6218
kbamberger@law.berkeley.edu

Eric Biber
Professor of Law
689 Simon Hall
510-643-5647
ebiber@law.berkeley.edu

Irene Bloemraad
Associate Professor of Sociology & Thomas Garden Barnes Chair of Canadian Studies
442 Barrows Hall
510-642-4287
fax 510-642-0659
bloemr@berkeley.edu

Mark Brilliant
Associate Professor of History
3229 Dwinelle Hall
510-642-2118
mbrill@berkeley.edu

R. Ben Brown
Lecturer in Legal Studies
rbbrown@berkeley.edu

Kitty Calavita
CSLS Distinguished Affiliated Scholar & Professor Emerita of Criminology, Law & Society
U.C. Irvine
kccalavi@uci.edu

Erwin Chemerinsky
Dean and Jesse H. Choper Distinguished Professor of Law
215 Boalt Hall
510-642-6483
echemerinsky@law.berkeley.edu

Marianne Constable
Professor of Rhetoric
7409 Dwinelle Hall
510-642-2176
mc@socrates.berkeley.edu

Robert Cooter
Herman F. Selvin Professor of Law
887 Simon Hall
510-642-0424
fax 510-642-3767
rdc@law.berkeley.edu

Lauren B. Edelman 
Agnes Roddy Robb Professor of Law; Professor of Sociology
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-642-7518
fax 510-642-2951
ledelman@law.berkeley.edu

Ira Ellman
Distinguished Affiliated Scholar, CSLS
Charles J. Merriam Distinguished Professor of Law
Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law
Arizona State University
ira.ellman@asu.edu

Samera Esmeir
Associate Professor of Rhetoric
7311 Dwinelle Hall
510-642-2173
samera.esmeir@berkeley.edu

Daniel A. Farber
Sho Sato Professor of Law; Co-Director, Center for Law, Energy & the Environment
510-642-0340
dfarber@law.berkeley.edu

Sean Farhang
Professor of Law; Associate Professor of Political Science & Public Policy
694 Simon Hall
510-643-5661
farhang@berkeley.edu

Malcolm M. Feeley
Claire Sanders Clements Dean’s Chair Professor of Law
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-642-4038
fax 510-642-2951
mfeeley@law.berkeley.edu

Catherine Fisk
Barbara Nachtrieb Armstrong Professor of Law
490 Simon Hall
510-642-2098
cfisk@berkeley.edu

Neil Fligstein
Professor of Sociology
Barrows 452
510-642-4766
fligst@berkeley.edu

Marion Fourcade 
Professor of Sociology
474 Barrows Hall
510-643-2707
fax 510-642-0659
fourcade@berkeley.edu

Cybelle Fox
Associate Professor of Sociology
492 Barrows Hall
510-642-7601
fax 510-642-0659
cfox@berkeley.edu

Mary Louise Frampton
Adjunct Professor of Law
785 Simon Hall
510-642-4474
fax 510-642-3728
mlframpton@law.berkeley.edu

Sean Gailmard
Professor of Political Science
734 Barrows Hall
510 642-4677
gailmard@berkeley.edu

Jack Glaser
Professor & Associate Dean Goldman School of Public Policy
359 GSPP Addition
510 642-3047
jackglaser@berkeley.edu

Justice Joseph R. Grodin
CSLS Distinguished Affiliated Scholar & John F. Digardi Dist. Professor of Law
U.C. Hasting College of Law
415-565-4654
grodinj@uchastings.edu

Heather Haveman
Professor of Sociology
494 Barrows Hall
510-642-3495
510-642-0659
haveman@berkeley.edu

David James Harding
Associate Professor of Sociology
462 Barrows
510-642-2707
dharding@berkeley.edu

Kinch Hoekstra
Chancellor’s Professor of Law and Political Science
784 Barrows
510-642-4678
fax 510-642-9515
khoekstra@law.berkeley.edu

Rucker C. Johnson
Associate Professor of Public Policy
347, GSPP Addition
510-643-0169
fax 510-643-9657
ruckerj@berkeley.edu

Nikki Jones
Associate Professor, African American Studies
688 Barrows
njones@berkeley.edu

Robert A. Kagan
Professor in the Graduate School and Professor Emeritus of Political Science and Law
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-642-4038
fax 510-642-2951
rak@law.berkeley.edu

Sonia Katyal
Chancellor’s Professor of Law
687 Simon Hall
510-642-2306 skatyal@law.berkeley.edu

Erin M. Kerrison
Assistant Professor
School of Social Welfare
510-642-4430
Twitter: @emkerrison
kerrison@berkeley.edu

Christopher L. Kutz
Edward C. Halbach Jr. Professor of Law
341 Boalt North Addition
510-642-6053
fax 510-642-2951
ckutz@law.berkeley.edu

Armando Lara-Millan
Assistant Professor of Sociology 
2014-16 Robert Wood Johnson Scholar in Health Policy
armando@berkeley.edu

Taeku Lee
Professor of Law & Political Science
726 Barrows Hall
510-642-4640
fax 510-642-9515
taekulee@berkeley.edu

Amy E. Lerman
Michelle Schwartz Associate Professor of Public Policy and Political Science
205A GSPP Main
510-642-1137
alerman@berkeley.edu

David Lieberman
Jefferson E Peyser Professor of Law & Professor of History
441 Boalt North Addition
510-643-2667
fax 510-643-2673
dlieb@law.berkeley.edu

Katerina Linos
Professor of Law
887 Simon Hall
510-642-3646
klinos@law.berkeley.edu

Kristin Luker
Elizabeth J. Boalt Professor of Law and Professor of Sociology
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-642-4038
fax 510-642-2951
luker@law.berkeley.edu

Jonathan Marshall
Director, Legal Studies Program
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-642-3670
jdmarshall@berkeley.edu

Charles J. McClain Jr.
CSLS Research Assoc., Vice Chair (Emeritus) of JSP Program & Lecturer in Residence
513, 2850 Telegraph Ave.
510-642-5027
cmcclain@law.berkeley.edu

Justin McCrary
Professor of Law
586 Simon Hall
510-643-6252
jmccrary@law.berkeley.edu

Rebecca McLennan
Associate Professor of History
2224 Dwinelle
510-642-1436
mclennan@berkeley.edu

Joy Milligan
Assistant Professor of Law
485 Simon Hall
510-643-4180
jmilligan@law.berkeley.edu

Setsuo Miyazawa
CSLS Distinguished Affiliated Scholar; Professor of Law, Aoyama Gakuin University Law School & UC Hastings College of Law (from Fall 2013)
smiyazawa@aoni.waseda.jp 

Saira Mohamed
Professor Law
423 Boalt North Addition
510-643-5760
smohamed@law.berkeley.edu

Calvin Morrill
Associate Dean, Jurisprudence and Social Policy; Stefan A. Riesenfeld Professsor of Law; and Professor of Sociology
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-642-9988
cmorrill@law.berkeley.edu

Melissa Murray
Alexander F. and May T. Morrison Professor of Law
419 Boalt North Addition
510-643-6127
mmurray@law.berkeley.edu

Michael Musheno
541-346-3862
musheno@uoregon.edu

Laura Nader
Professor of Anthropology
313 Kroeber Hall
510-642-1218
lanad@berkeley.edu

Osagie Obasogie
Haas Distinguished Chair and Professor of Bioethics
Joint Medical Program
Division of Community Health Sciences
UC Berkeley School of Public Health
215 University Hall
obasogie@berkeley.edu

Anne Joseph O’Connell
Professor of Law
433 Boalt North Addition
510-643-9393
aoconnell@law.berkeley.edu

Vanessa Ogle
Associate Professor of History
2207 Dwinelle
vanessa.ogle@berkeley.edu

Angela Onwuachi-Willig
Chancellor’s Professor of Law
442 Boalt Hall (North Addition)
510-642-1024
aonwuachi@law.berkeley.edu

Dylan Penningroth
Professor of Law and History
423 Boalt North Addition
dpenningroth@law.berkeley.edu

Beth H. Piatote
Associate Professor, Native American Studies
Affiliated Faculty, American Studies
582 Barrows
piatote@berkeley.edu

Tony Platt
Distinguished Affiliated Scholar
Professor Emeritus
Sacramento State University
510-295-7442
amplatt27@gmail.com

Victoria Plaut
Professor of Law and Social Science
591 Simon Hall
510-642-2523
vplaut@law.berkeley.edu

Steven Raphael
Professor and James D. Marver Chair in Public Policy
343, GSPP Addition
510-643-0536
stevenraphael@berkeley.edu

Russell Robinson 
Distinguised Haas Chair in LGBT Equity Professor of Law
439 Boalt North Addition
510-642-3932 
robinson@law.berkeley.edu

Bertrall Ross
Chacellor’s Professor of Law
347 Boalt North Addition
510-643-5788 bross@law.berkeley.edu

Daniel L. Rubinfeld
Robert L. Bridges Professor of Law & Professor of Economics, Emeritus
788 Simon Hall
510-642-1959
fax 510-642-3767
rubinfeld@law.berkeley.edu

James B. Rule
CSLS Distinguished Affiliated Scholar & Professor of Sociology, Emeritus, SUNY, Stony Brook
james@jamesbrule.net

Larry Ruth
College of Natural Resources
ergolarry@gmail.com

Harry N. Scheiber
Stefan A. Riesenfeld Professor of Law and History (Emeritus)
Chancellor’s Emeritus Professor
442 Boalt North Addition
510-643-9788
fax 510-642-2951
scheiber@uclink.berkeley.edu

Jane Scheiber
CSLS Research Associate
Asst. Dean Retired, College of Chemistry
jscheib@berkeley.edu

Nancy Scheper-Hughes
Chancellor’s Professor
Department of Anthropology
305 Kroeber
nsh@berkeley.edu

Susan Schweik
Professor of English
309 Wheeler
sschweik@berkeley.edu

Martin M. Shapiro
James W. & Isabel Coffroth Professor of Law, Emeritus
886 Simon Hall
510-642-7190
fax 510-642-3767
shapirom@law.berkeley.edu

Jonathan Simon
Adrian A. Kragen Professor of Law and Director of CSLS
592 Simon Hall
510-643-5169
jsimon@law.berkeley.edu
Blogs:
http://governingthroughcrime.blogspot.com/
http://jspscope.blogspot.com/index.html
http://www.berkeleyjurisprude.blogspot.com/

Jennifer Skeem
Professor, School of Social Welfare & Goldman School of Public Policy
jenskeem@berkeley.edu

Jerome H. Skolnick
Claire Clements Dean’s Chair, Emeritus
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-642-4038
fax 510-642-2951
jerome.skolnick@gmail.com

Sandra Susan Smith
Professor of Sociology
428 Barrows Hall
510-642-4298
sandra_smith@berkeley.edu

Sarah Song
Professor of Law and 
Associate Professor of Political Science 
422 Boalt North Addition
510-643-5637
510-643-2673
ssong@law.berkeley.edu

Avani Sood
Assistant Professor of Law
419 North Addition
510-642-7341
amsood@law.berkeley.edu

Rachel Stern
Assistant Professor of Law and Political Science
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-664-4985
fax 510-642-2951
rstern@law.berkeley.edu

Karen Tani 
Assistant Professor of Law
418 Boalt North Addition
ktani@law.berkeley.edu

Margaret Taylor
Energy Analysis & Environmental Impacts Dept.
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Office location: 90-4040
510-486-4257
MTaylor@lbl.gov

Christopher Tomlins
Elizabeth J. Boalt Professor of Law
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-642-9049
ctomlins@law.berkeley.edu

Dorothy Thornton
School of Public Health
dthornto@berkeley.edu

David Vogel 
Solomon P. Lee Distinguished Professorship in Business Ethics 
and Professor of Political Science 
S545 Haas
510-642-5294
vogel@haas.berkeley.edu

Leti Volpp
Robert D. and Leslie Kay Raven Professor of Law in Access to Justice
893 Simon Hall
510-642-0330
lvolpp@law.berkeley.edu

Kim Voss
Director, Berkeley Connect in Sociology;
476 Barrows
510-642-4756
kimvoss@berkeley.edu

Charles Weisselberg
Shannon Cecil Turner Professor of Law; Assoc. Director
510 643-8159
cweisselberg@law.berkeley.edu

David Winickoff
Associate Professor of Bioethics & Society, Division of Society & Environment, ESPM
115 Giannini Hall
510-643-0319
winickoff@berkeley.edu

Chris Zepeda-Millán
Assistant Professor, Department of Ethnic Studies; Faculty Director, Center for Research on Social Change
586 Barrows Hall
(510)643-0796
czm@berkeley.edu

Franklin E. Zimring
William G. Simon Professor of Law
383 Boalt Hall
510-642-0854
fax 510-643-2698
fzimring@law.berkeley.edu