2019 Berkeley Conference

Focus: The Global Resistance to Sexual Harassment and Violence

Professor Catharine MacKinnon, who pioneered the legal claim for sexual harassment, gave the keynote address at the 2018 #MeToo conference and will return to make a keynote presentation at the 2019 conference.


Last year, women across the globe were tweeting #MeToo.

This year they’re organizing for solutions.


Sexual harassment is a global problem which has given birth to global resistance: 

The Worldwide #MeToo Movement.

How do we use the tools of comparative law to address the problem of sexual harassment? On May 14, 2019, legal scholars and practitioner-experts from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America and South America, will gather at Berkeley Law to explore approaches and solutions with California lawyers and other specialists.

It’s been over a year since revelations of widespread sexual harassment by powerful men in journalism, entertainment, politics, and law — and the #MeToo hashtag — rocked the world, as women shared their common experiences of sexual harassment.  This conference will examine the systemic issues that permit harassment, and explore proposed creative solutions developed across the globe.


  • Keynote presentations by:
    • Catharine MacKinnon, Professor of Law, University of Michigan/Harvard, who pioneered the legal claim for sexual harassment as sex discrimination in employment and education;
    • Purna SenExecutive Coordinator and Spokesperson on Addressing Sexual Harassment and Other Forms of Discrimination, United Nations;
    • Saru JayaramanCo-Founder and Co-Director of the Restaurant Opportunities Centers United (ROC United), Director of the Food Labor Research Center at UC Berkeley, and San Francisco Chronicle 2019 Visionary of the Year for her advocacy for restaurant workers’ rights, including against sexual harassment.
  • Harassment experts from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America and South America.
  • Speakers include law professors, lawyers, general counsel, journalists, and other specialists.

Who Should Apply 

Attorneys and other leaders and specialists who want to learn how the global movement against sexual harassment is changing the workplace, and who want to join the conversation on how to use the law as a tool to prevent and remedy harassment. For attorneys, this course will be approved for at least 6 hours of California MCLE credit, which will include 1 hour of elimination of bias credit.


The Early Bird Rate starts February 1st, 2019 for $375, ending on March 15th, 2019.

The regular program fee is $450 per person ($375 for UC Berkeley alumni). Recent graduates and persons working with non-profits may request a partial reduction.

The fees cover all tuition, course materials, and meals during the event. Travel and accommodation are not included.