McBaine Honors Moot Court Competition

The James Patterson McBaine Honors Competition is Berkeley Law’s premier advanced-level moot court competition and is open to all Berkeley Law second- and third-year JD students. The competition format is modeled after United States Supreme Court practice. Cases chosen for the competition involve cutting-edge issues of great public importance.

For the final round, we have hosted esteemed judges from the state and federal bench, notably: Supreme Court Justices Stephen Breyer and Sonia Sotomayor; D.C. Circuit Judge David Tatel; Seventh Circuit Judge Diane Wood; Ninth Circuit Judges Marsha Berzon, Morgan Christen, William Fletcher, Sandra Ikuta, Mary Murguia, and Paul Watford; Northern District of California Judges Charles Breyer, Edward Chen, Jon Tigar, and Claudia Wilken; California Supreme Court Justices Kathryn Werdegar, Carol Corrigan, and Goodwin Liu; Alaska Supreme Court Justice Daniel Winfree; and others. Semifinal round judges have included California Court of Appeal justices and other federal court judges.


Sign-ups Open for McBaine 2019

Submit your online Registration Request Form!

Please note the following change: in lieu of a fixed deadline, we will welcome participants on a rolling basis as space allows. Students will receive the course control number to register for course credit after submitting the form, and the case record for the competition will be posted before winter break.

Competitors are forbidden from receiving any outside help–including from fellow students–when writing their briefs and preparing oral arguments. However, the McBaine Student Director will host information sessions on brief-writing and oral argument for participants. Both the Student Director and the Advocacy Competitions Director will also be available for individual meetings throughout the competition.

Some additional helpful information:

2018 Winners

Congratulations to our 2018 finalist Brandon Orewyler ’18 and to our 2018 McBaine champion Grace Gohlke ’18! Congratulations also to Kiet Lam ’18 and Madeleine Wiseman ’18 for winning the Crowell & Moring Best Brief awards.

The McBaine Competition and Best Brief Award are made possible with generous support from Crowell & Moring LLP.