Eddan Katz ’02

2002 Stories

Eddan Katz wins Sax Prize for Excellence in Clinical Advocacy
Eddan Katz ’02 is receiving the 2002 Brian M. Sax Prize for Excellence in Clinical Advocacy. The award is given annually to a graduating student who has demonstrated excellence in advocacy and professional judgment on behalf of clients in a Boalt Hall clinic. Established in memory of Boalt Hall lecturer Brian M. Sax ’69, nominees demonstrate a commitment to representing their client’s interest ethically and with integrity.

One of the first students to participate in the Samuelson Law, Technology and Public Policy Clinic, Katz proposed several innovative proposals that helped the clinic to develop the Chilling Effects project. Launched in March 2002, chillingeffects.org is a groundbreaking website designed to empower Internet users with information about their online legal rights. Katz also helped to draft comments on behalf of the Center for Democracy and Technology for FCC proceedings addressing privacy regulations in wireless location information technologies. In addition, he is currently working with the UC system to create new policies that would allow UC scientists and engineers to make important scientific information and inventions freely available to the public. Following graduation Katz will focus on intellectual property and privacy issues related to technology as a research fellow for Pamela Samuelson, a professor at Boalt Hall and Berkeley’s School of Information Management Systems (SIMS).

Jennifer Reisch will also receive an honorable mention for her participation in the International Human Rights Law Clinic. During her time with the clinic, Reisch worked to promote awareness among U.S. trade union members of the linkages between labor rights and human rights; participated in a multi-clinic effort to increase access to HIV medications for individuals in Sri Lanka; and represented asylum seekers in immigration matters. After graduation, Reisch will begin a one-year fellowship with Public Advocates Inc. in San Francisco.

The award ceremony will be held Wednesday, April 10, at 4:30 p.m. in the Morrison Foerster Lounge.