News and Events
Contact Us
Make a Gift
UC Berkeley

2004 Stories

Boalt Students Advance in Moot Court Competitions
Four of Boalt Hall's moot court teams advanced this weekend in moot court competitions held throughout the country. Two of the four teams will continue on to compete at the national level.

At the Pace Environmental Law Moot Court Competition in White Plains, N.Y., Boalt’s Environmental Moot Court team—Tony Brown ’05, Reda Dennis ’05 and David Ismay ’05—competed against 73 teams. They advanced through several rounds to argue in the finals against Lewis & Clark and Louisiana State University. The team’s coaches were adjunct lecturer Robert Infelise, and Jeff Brax ’01, who was on Boalt Hall’s winning 2001 team.

A team composed of Cheryl Kahn ’05, Henry Carbajal ’04, Robert Vartabedian ’05 and George Fox ’05 competed in the Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition, the nation’s premiere patent and trademark competition. The team won the regional competition and took first prize for best brief. They will advance to the final round in Washington, D.C, on March 13.

Boalt Hall hosted the regionals for the Jessup International Law Moot Court competition, and the Boalt team of Jeewon Kim ’04, Christopher Van Meir ’05, Claudia Vetesi ’04, Christina Brown ’05 and Michael Lieberman ’04 reached the final round of the competition. Lieberman also won a second place award for his oral arguments.

At the National Trial Competition’s Western Regional Competition in Seattle, Boalt Hall’s Mock Trial Team—Lana Morton-Owens ’04, Benjamin Kim ’04 and Quirina Orozco ’05—emerged undefeated after four days and six full trials. The team, coached by San Francisco trial attorney John Hullverson, will advance to the national championship in Austin, Texas, on March 24-27. Boalt Hall’s record is now 11-0 since first entering the competition in 2003.

For more information, contact Erin Campbell at 510-643-8010 or









© 2008 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. For questions or comments, please contact the Webmaster.