2003 Stories

Constance De La Vega Wins Mathew O. Tobriner Public Service Award
The Legal Aid Society-Employment Law Center has chosen Constance De La Vega '78 to receive the 2003 Mathew O. Tobriner Public Service Award. The annual prize recognizes Bay Area law school professors for their commitment to academic diversity and for mentoring the next generation of lawyers. The award is named in honor of Mathew O. Tobriner, who was an associate justice of the California Supreme Court.

De La Vega will receive the award at the Legal Aid Society’s 87th Anniversary Luncheon, which will be held June 11 in the Grand Ballroom of the Westin St. Francis Hotel in San Francisco. Boalt professor Angela Harris will also be honored. The Honorable Thelton Henderson ’62 of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California will present the award. For more information, please contact Chris Bush at 510-643-8215 or cbush@law.berkeley.edu.