CSLS Affiliates

Kathryn Abrams
Herma Hill Kay Distinguished
Professor of Law
333 Boalt North Addition
510-643-6355
krabrams@law.berkeley.edu

Catherine Albiston
Professor of Law and Prof. of Sociology
2240 Piedmont
510-642-4038
fax 510-642-2951
calbiston@law.berkeley.edu


Kenneth A. Bamberger
Professor of Law
446 Boalt North Addition
510-643-6218
kbamberger@law.berkeley.edu

Eric Biber
Professor of Law
689 Simon Hall
510-643-5647
ebiber@law.berkeley.edu

Irene Bloemraad
Assoc. Prof. of Sociology & Thomas Garden Barnes Chair of Canadian Studies
442 Barrows Hall
510-642-4287
fax 510-642-0659
bloemr@berkeley.edu

Mark Brilliant
Assoc. Prof. of History
3229 Dwinelle Hall
510-642-2118
mbrill@berkeley.edu

R. Ben Brown
Lecturer in Legal Studies
rbbrown@berkeley.edu

Kitty Calavita
CSLS Distinguished Affiliated Scholar & Prof. Emerita of Criminology, Law & Society
U.C. Irvine
kccalavi@uci.edu

Marianne Constable
Professor and Chair in Rhetoric
7409 Dwinelle Hall
510-642-2176
mc@socrates.berkeley.edu

Robert Cooter
Herman F. Selvin Prof. of Law
887 Simon Hall
510-642-0424
fax 510-642-3767
rdc@law.berkeley.edu

Lauren B. Edelman 
Agnes Roddy Robb Professor of Law; Professor of Sociology
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-642-7518
fax 510-642-2951
ledelman@law.berkeley.edu

Samera Esmeir
Assoc. Prof. of Rhetoric
7311 Dwinelle Hall
510-642-2173
samera.esmeir@berkeley.edu

Sean Farhang
Assoc. Prof. of Political Science and Public Policy
Room 209, GSPP Main
510-643-5847
farhang@berkeley.edu

Malcolm M. Feeley
Claire Sanders Clements Dean's Chair Professor of Law
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-642-4038
fax 510-642-2951
mfeeley@law.berkeley.edu

Neil Fligstein
Professor of Sociology
Barrows 452
510-642-4766
fligst@berkeley.edu

Marion Fourcade
Assoc. Professor of Sociology
474 Barrows Hall
510-643-2707
fax 510-642-0659
fourcade@berkeley.edu

Cybelle Fox
Asst Prof. of Sociology
492 Barrows Hall
510-642-7601
fax 510-642-0659
cfox@berkeley.edu

Sean Gailmard
Associate Professor of Political Science; Berkeley Empirical Legal Studies (BELS) Faculty Fellow, CSLS, Berkeley Law
734 Barrows Hall
510 642-4677
gailmard@berkeley.edu

Justice Joseph R. Grodin
CSLS Distinguished Affiliated Scholar & John F. Digardi Dist. Professor of Law
U.C. Hasting College of Law
415-565-4654
grodinj@uchastings.edu

Joseph R. Gusfield
CSLS Distinguished Affiliated Scholar & Prof. of Sociol., Emeritus, UCSD
jgusfield@ucsd.edu

Heather Haveman
Professor of Sociology
494 Barrows Hall
510-642-3495
510-642-0659
haveman@berkeley.edu

David James Harding
Assoc. Prof. of Sociology
462 Barrows
510-642-2707
dharding@berkeley.edu

Kinch Hoekstra
Professor of Law and Chancellor's Professor of Law and Political Science
784 Barrows
510-642-4678
fax 510-642-9515
khoekstra@law.berkeley.edu

Rucker C. Johnson
Assoc. Prof. of Public Policy
347, GSPP Addition
510-643-0169
fax 510-643-9657
ruckerj@berkeley.edu

Nikki Jones
Assoc. Professor, African American Studies
688 Barrows
njones@berkeley.edu


Robert A. Kagan

Emanuel S. Heller Prof. of Law & Prof. of Poli. Sci., Emeritus
2240 Piedmonts Ave.
510-642-4038
fax 510-642-2951
rak@law.berkeley.edu

Linda Hamilton Krieger
Professor of Law & Dir,. Ulu Lehua Scholars Program
William S. Richardson School of Law, U of Hawaii, Manoa
lkrieger@hawaii.edu

Christopher L. Kutz
Edward C. Halbach Jr. Prof. of Law & Dir,, Kadish Center
341 Boalt North Addition
510-642-6053
fax 510-642-2951
ckutz@law.berkeley.edu

Armando Lara-Millan
Asst. Prof of Sociology (from Fall 2016)
2014-16 Robert Wood Johnson Scholar in Health Policy
armando@berkeley.edu

Taeku Lee
Prof. of Law & Political Science & Chair, Political Science
726 Barrows Hall
510-642-4640
fax 510-642-9515
taekulee@berkeley.edu

Amy E. Lerman
Michelle Schwartz Assoc. Prof. of Public Policy
205A GSPP Main
510-642-1137
alerman@berkeley.edu  

Su Li
Statistician in Empirical Legal Studies, CSLS
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-642-8291
su.li@law.berkeley.edu

David Lieberman
Jefferson E Peyser Prof. of Law & Prof. of History
441 Boalt North Addition
510-643-2667
fax 510-643-2673
dlieb@law.berkeley.edu

Katerina Linos
Assistant Professor of Law
887 Simon Hall
510-642-3646
klinos@law.berkeley.edu

Kristin Luker
Elizabeth Josselyn Boalt Prof. of Law and Prof. of Sociology
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-642-4038
fax 510-642-2951
luker@law.berkeley.edu

Charles J. McClain Jr.
CSLS Research Assoc., Vice Chair (Emeritus) of JSP Program & Lecturer in Residence
513, 2850 Telegraph Ave.
510-642-5027
cmcclain@law.berkeley.edu

Justin McCrary
Professor of Law
586 Simon Hall
510-643-6252
jmccrary@law.berkeley.edu

Setsuo Miyazawa
CSLS Distinguished Affiliated Scholar; Professor of Law, Aoyama Gakuin University Law School & UC Hastings College of Law (from Fall 2013)
smiyazawa@aoni.waseda.jp

Saira Mohamed
Assistant Professor Law
423 Boalt North Addition
510-643-5760
smohamed@law.berkeley.edu

Calvin Morrill
Assoc. Dean, Jurispr. and Social Policy; Stefan A. Riesenfeld Professsor of Law; and Professor of Sociology
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-642-9988
cmorrill@law.berkeley.edu

Melissa Murray
Professor of Law
419 Boalt North Addition
510-643-6127
mmurray@law.berkeley.edu

Michael Musheno
Faculty Director, Legal Studies Program & Adjunct Prof. of Law
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-642-2008
mmusheno@law.berkeley.edu

Laura Nader
Professor of Anthropology
313 Kroeber Hall
510-642-1218

Anne Joseph O'Connell
Professor of Law
433 Boalt North Addition
510-643-9393
aoconnell@law.berkeley.edu

Victoria Plaut
Professor of Law and Social Science
591 Simon Hall
510-642-2523
vplaut@law.berkeley.edu

Kevin Quinn
Professor of Law
490 Simon Hall
510-642-2485
kquinn@law.berkeley.edu

Steven Raphael
Professor of Public Policy
343, GSPP Addition
510-643-0536
stevenraphael@berkeley.edu

Russell Robinson
Distinguised Haas Chair in LGBT Equity Professor of Law
439 Boalt North Addition
510-642-3932
robinson@law.berkeley.edu

Bertrall Ross
Assistant Professor of Law
347 Boalt North Addition
510-643-5788
bross@law.berkeley.edu


Daniel L. Rubinfeld
 
Robert L. Bridges Prof. of Law & Prof. of Economics, Emeritus
788 Simon Hall
510-642-1959
fax 510-642-3767
rubinfeld@law.berkeley.edu

James B. Rule
CSLS Distinguished Affiliated Scholar & Prof. of Sociology, Emeritus, SUNY, Stony Brook
james@jamesbrule.net

Larry Ruth
College of Natural Resources
ergo@nature.berkeley.edu

Harry N. Scheiber
Stephan A. Riesenfeld Prof. of Law & Hist & Dir., Inst. for Legal Research
442 Boalt North Addition
510-643-9788
fax 510-642-2951
scheiber@uclink.berkeley.edu 

Jane Scheiber
CSLS Research Associate
Asst. Dean Retired, College of Chemistry
jscheib@berkeley.edu

Martin M. Shapiro 
James W. & Isabel Coffroth Prof. of Law, Emeritus
886 Simon Hall
510-642-7190
fax 510-642-3767
shapirom@law.berkeley.edu

Jonathan Simon
Adrian A. Kragen Prof. of Law and Director of CSLS
592 Simon Hall
510-643-5169
jsimon@law.berkeley.edu
Blogs:
http://governingthroughcrime.blogspot.com/ 
http://jspscope.blogspot.com/index.html
http://www.berkeleyjurisprude.blogspot.com/

Jerome H. Skolnick
Claire Clements Dean's Chair, Emeritus
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-642-4038
fax 510-642-2951
jerome.skolnick@gmail.com

Sarah Song
Prof. of Law & Assoc. Prof. of Political Science.
422 Boalt North Addition
510-643-5637
510-643-2673
ssong@law.berkeley.edu

Avani Sood
Asst. Professor of Law
419 North Addition
510-642-7341
amsood@law.berkeley.edu

Ralph A. Spinelli
CSLS Graduate Research Associate, Goldman School of Public Policy
ralphspinelli007@comcast.net

Rachel Stern
Asst. Professor of Law
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-664-4985
fax 510-642-2951
rstern@law.berkeley.edu

Karen Tani
Assistant Professor of Law
418 Boalt North Addition
ktani@law.berkeley.edu

Margaret Taylor
Energy Analysis & Environmental Impacts Dept.
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Office location: 90-4040
510-486-4257
MTaylor@lbl.gov

Chris Tomlins
Professor of Law
2240 Piedmont Ave.
510-642-9049
ctomlins@law.berkeley.edu

Dorothy Thornton
School of Public Health
dthornto@berkeley.edu

David Vogel 
Solomon P. Lee Distinguished Prof. of Business Ethics and Prof. of Poli. Sci.
S545 Haas
510-642-5294
vogel@haas.berkeley.edu

Leti Volpp
Robert D. and Leslie Kay Raven Prof. of Law in Access to Justice
893 Simon Hall
510-642-0330
lvolpp@law.berkeley.edu

Charles Weisselberg
Shannon Cecil Turner Professor of Law; Assoc. Director, Sho Sato Program in Japanese and U.S. Law
510 643-8159
cweisselberg@law.berkeley.edu

David Winickoff
Assoc. Prof. of Bioethics & Society, Division of Society & Environment, ESPM
115 Giannini Hall
510-643-0319
winickoff@berkeley.edu

Franklin E. Zimring
William G. Simon Prof. of Law & Wolfen Distinguished Scholar
383 Boalt Hall
510-642-0854
fax 510-643-2698
fzimring@law.berkeley.edu