Award Recipients

Herma Hill Kay
For the past 50 years, Herma Hill Kay has been a popular faculty member at Boalt Hall and a powerful voice for equal rights. A pioneer among women in the law and a prominent expert on gender-related legal issues, she has enriched Boalt in countless ways. It took Kay just two years on campus to win UC Berkeley’s Distinguished Teaching Award—the first of many major honors that have recognized her teaching, research, and impact in helping women advance in the legal profession. As Boalt’s first woman dean from 1992 to 2000, Kay faced severe budget restrictions and a state law barring public institutions from recruitment based on affirmative action. The law school nevertheless thrived during her tenure, rising from 12th to 8th in the U.S. News & World Report rankings. A past or present member of 12 governing or advisory boards, Kay also received the first Boalt Hall Alumni Association Faculty Lifetime Achievement Award.

Kathryn Werdegar ’62
California Supreme Court Justice Kathryn Mickle Werdegar ’62 is the recipient of this year’s D. Lowell and Barbara Jensen Public Service Award. First in her class at Boalt Hall—and the first woman elected editor-in-chief of the California Law Review—she served on the First District Court of Appeal in San Francisco before being appointed to the California Supreme Court in 1994 and re-elected in 2002. Prior to her time on the bench, Werdegar worked for the U.S. Department of Justice, directed the California Continuing Education of the Bar’s criminal law division, served as senior staff attorney with the California Court of Appeal and California Supreme Court, and was a professor and associate dean at University of San Francisco School of Law. Werdegar has won five American Jurisprudence Awards, and her publications address the relationship between courts and private alternative dispute resolution, diversity in the judicial system, and California criminal procedure.



Past Recipients of the Judge D. Lowell & Barbara Jensen Public Service Award:

                                               2014 Thomas Orloff '69
                                               2013 Judge Charles Breyer '66
                                               2012 the late Sanford Svetcov '64
                                               2011 Penelope M. Cooper '64   
                                               2010 Judge Kathryn Mickle Werdegar '62
                                               2008 Judge J. Clifford Wallace
                                               2007 Governor Pete Wilson '62
                                               2006 Judge Henry Ramsey '63
                                               2005 Judge Lloyd D. George '71
                                               2004 Judge Thelton Henderson '62
                                               2003 the late Judge Robert Puglia '58
                                               2002 former U.S. Attorney General Edwin Meese III '58
                                               2001 Attorney Joanne Garvey '61
                                               2000 Judge Harry W. Low '55
                                               1999 the late Judge Clinton White '48
                                               1998 the late Judge Stanley Golde '52

Boalt students who received Jensen fellowships for summer work in public interest law:

                                               2008 Cynthia Hsu '10 and Emmy Rhine '09
                                               2007 Joy Haviland '08 and Jalyn Wang '08
                                               2006 Bertha Magaña '07 and Audrey Mink '07
                                               2005 Chorisia Folkman '06 and Christina Hioureas '07
                                               2004 Eliza Hersh '05 and Durwood Riedel '06
                                               2003 Quirina Orozco and David Ismay