2005 Archive

Students Compete in McBaine Moot Court Finals

The finals for this year's James Patterson McBaine Honors Moot Court Competition took place on Tuesday, April 12, in Booth Auditorium. The finalists for this year's competition were Khalil Yearwood '05 and Nick Ganjei '05. They argued before a panel of judges consisting of U.S. 9th Circuit Court of Appeals Judges Stephen Reinhardt and Carlos Bea, and Justice J. Anthony Kline of the California Court of Appeal. The case this year concerned the balance between an attorney's First Amendment right to criticize a court and the judiciary's duty to maintain order and respect. 4/13/2005